International Trade Law : Research Guide

The developing World contains 80 percent of the globe's population, but accounts for less than 25 percent of its trade. The tariffs imposed by rich nations on manufactured products from developing countries are four times higher than the duties on goods from other industrialized nations. This book examines the trade problems the developing nations face in the new Millennium. Professor Carl's detailed analysis of the effects of WTO rules-as well as rules of no less than 37 other regional trade agreements-on the economic infrastructures of developing nations is as telling and incisive as it is eloquent and insightful. It covers a wide spectrum of essential trade issues, including tariffs, quotas, subsidies, dumping, rules of origin, standards, safeguards, textiles, agriculture, and information technology. Professor Carl clearly shows why, in all of these areas, developing nations fail to benefit from multilateral trade agreements as currently constituted. This volume is an invaluable key to understanding the deepest and most serious flaws in the "New World Order," and an essential resource for practitioners, policymakers, business people, and scholars committed to an international trade regime that is truly "free." Published under the Transnational Publishers imprint.

Interest in regional integration has recently revived in both developed and developing countries. The US has responded to the lack of progress in the Uruguay Round of the GATT by pursuing bilateral trade negotiations, while developing countries have been prompted to re-evaluate the potential benefits of regional integration. The tendency for the world trading system to divide into three blocs - the European Community, the Americas and East Asia - is providing their members with guaranteed access to large markets; however, poor non-member countries will suffer from the loss of access and the risk of trade wars is increased. In this book leading international experts assess the renewed attractiveness of regional integration to individual countries, the types of integration that are suitable to various circumstances, the conditions necessary to their success, and the relationship of regionalism to multilateral free trade.
Also available in print, Call Number HF1418.5 .N48 1993

The stalling of the Doha Development Round trade negotiations has resulted in bilateral and regional free trade agreements becoming an important alternative. These agreements have proliferated in recent years, and now all of the major trading countries are engaging in serious bilateral trade negotiations with multiple trading partners. This second edition provides a new collection of case studies illustrating the latest trends and innovations in bilateral and regional trade agreements (BRTAs). The selected BRTAs represent a good sampling of regional variation and cover the most important substantive issues. Authored by leading scholars and practitioners, each case study offers comprehensive analysis of the featured BRTA, and the format allows for quick comparisons.
Also available in print, Call Number K4600 .B483 2015

This book examines the labour standards provisions in a number of Regional and Bilateral Trade Agreements, and assesses the potential of using the relevant clauses in these trade agreements as a benchmark for a multilateral approach. Based on the lessons learned from the Regional model, the book proposes a Global Labour and Trade Framework Agreement (GLTFA) combined with a joint ILO/WTO enforcement mechanism to resolve the contentious issue of the link between the CLS and international trade. The history of the linkage between the Core Labour Standards (CLS) and international trade dates back roughly 150 years, and has recently become one of the most vexing issues facing policy-makers. At the heart of the debate is the question whether or not trade sanctions should be imposed on countries that do not respect the CLS as embodied in multilateral conventions administered by the International Labour Organization (ILO). Concretely, this would entail inserting a social clause in the World Trade Organization (WTO) rules, and would trigger the imposition of sanctions on those countries that do not adhere to the CLS.

The proliferation of regional trade agreements (RTAs) is one of the most economically significant, politically important and, for some, troubling developments within the world trading system since the WTO Agreements entered into force in 1995. The WTO Secretariat has predicted that by 2010 nearly 400 such preferential trade agreements could be in force, with many WTO Member States being to party to multiple RTAs. This movement toward more regionalism may accelerate if the Doha Development Round of WTO negotiations remains stalemated, but will likely continue regardless of whether Doha is ultimately concluded. This volume is designed to introduce the reader to the world of RTAs, for general understanding of the place of RTAs in the global trading system, appreciation of the context and legal content of particular RTAs, and as a basis for further study and analysis. (An extensive bibliography and list of Internet links are included.) Part I discusses the economic, policy and developmental issues arising from regionalism, and then considers the WTO legal regime as it affects and is affected by RTAs. The focus there is on free trade agreements (FTAs) and customs unions (CUs) regulated by Article XXIV of GATT 1994 or Article V of the General Agreement on Trade in Services, and on efforts within the WTO regime to minimize the negative effects of such departures from the core GATT/WTO principle of non-discrimination (most-favored nation treatment). Part II discusses the multiple FTAs concluded by the United States with various trading partners since 1985, beginning with an analysis of the political, legal and policy considerations that affect the United States' ability to conclude international trade agreements. Extensive coverage is given to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and to the Central American Dominican Republic United States FTA (CAFTA-DR). NAFTA is important because it represents by far the largest trade volume generated under any U.S. FTA, and because it has become the model for most subsequent U.S. FTAs, as well as many concluded by other nations. CAFTA-DR embodies legal changes reflecting ten years experience under NAFTA. It also exemplifies the increasing use of FTAs by the United States as a mechanism for encouraging economic development, democratic institutions and the rule of law. Analysis at varying levels of detail is provided for all other U.S. FTAs, including those with Colombia, Panama and Korea, for which Congressional approval is pending, and for the unique bilateral trade agreement with Vietnam. Part III analyzes five other important RTAs: The European Union (EU), Central American Common Market, MERCOSUR, South African Customs Union, and ASEAN FTA. These diverse accords each play an important role in the intra-regional political and economic relations of the parties, and exemplify a broad range of ambitious approaches to expanding intra-regional trade and commerce on four continents. The EU is likely the most successful RTA in history, and serves as a model for other CUs, including those discussed in Part III. Like globalization, the RTA phenomenon is here to stay. WTO member government officials, international practitioners and law students aspiring to careers in international trade law must learn to deal effectively with the challenges and opportunities presented by such agreements.

This volume contains a collection of studies examining trade-related issues negotiated in regional trade agreements (RTAs) and how RTAs are related to the WTO's rules. While previous work has focused on subsets of RTAs, these studies are based on what is probably the largest dataset used to date, and highlight key issues that have been negotiated in all RTAs notified to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) and the World Trade Organization (WTO). New rules within RTAs are compared to rules agreed upon by WTO members. The extent of their divergences and the potential implications for parties to RTAs, as well as for WTO members that are not parties to RTAs, are examined. This volume makes an important contribution to the current debate on the role of the WTO in regulating international trade and how WTO rules relate to new rules being developed by RTAs.