International Trade Law : Research Guide

Beginning in 1952, this series provided access to the text of the agreements that established GATT and set forth the procedures followed therein. After the first edition, the books provided decisions and reports from GATT panels and committees and an updated list of the contracting parties. Indexes are provided in the supplement volumes to assist in finding relevant decisions. The supplements generally cover two to three year periods, with selective editions for individual years. The publication stops after the 42nd supplement in 1995.

Beginning in 1952, this series provided access to the text of the agreements that established GATT and set forth the procedures followed therein. After the first edition, the books provided decisions and reports from GATT panels and committees and an updated list of the contracting parties. Indexes are provided in the supplement volumes to assist in finding relevant decisions. The supplements generally cover two to three year periods, with selective editions for individual years. The publication stops after the 42nd supplement in 1995.

Vol. 2 and vol. 4, plus supplements 1-42.
Volumes 1-4 and the supplements are also available in print, Call Number JX1976.T4 B291.

The Agreements negotiated in the Uruguay Round, which form the legal framework of the World Trade Organization, will govern world trade into the twenty-first century. This volume covers: * Goods: the updated General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) that includes new rules on agriculture, textiles, anti-dumping, subsidies and countervailing measures, import licensing, rules of origin, standards, and pre-shipment inspection. (The original 1947 GATT text is also included in this volume.) * Services: the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) * Intellectual Property: the Agreement on Trade-Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) * Disputes: the new procedures for dispute settlement * The legal framework for the World Trade Organization This is the definitive reference for all practising and academic trade lawyers. It is an essential addition to all international law libraries, a vital source book for students taking courses on international economic or trade law and an important resource for economists and political scientists.
Also available in print, Call Number K4603 1984 .A4 1999

Contains complete history of Senate and House documents related to the Uruguay Round of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) accords. Includes Document Indexes volume. For related material, see GATT Multilateral Trade Negotiations Uruguay Round (Item #308200), General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade: Basic Instruments and Selected Documents (Item #329090), and Uruguay Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations (Item #330910).
Also available in print, Call Number JX1976.T4 Ur8135 1995

This series provides access to many of the agreements that came about as a result of the Uruguay Round. Individual volumes are devoted to each agreement. They contain the text of the agreement, an explanation of the articles of the agreement and supplementary materials relating to the agreement. They are organized to include an introduction, the actual text and core principles. The writing style uses clear, straightforward language to explain the reasons for and the content of the agreements. For a researcher interested in a specific agreement relating to the WTO, this series would be a good beginning point.

The BISD is the official, one-stop source for documents pertaining to the operation and scope of the World Trade Organization (WTO). It contains the Protocols for Accession for new WTO member nations along with other legal instruments. The WTO BISD is co-published by the World Trade Organization and Bernan Press.