Dispute Resolution Decisions
It is important to note that panel decisions can be very long and that not all printed versions of them contain the full text of the decision. Print volumes may contain summaries or excerpts of the decisions. The decisions in print may omit addendums and annexes that have been included by the WTO panel for the sake of completeness.
A good place to find the full text of the decisions is the WTO website. Another reason to use the site is that the WTO considers it an official source of documentation. However, this site is not the most straightforward, so that having the name of the case is helpful. Within the WTO page, it is important to go directly to the panel decision page, rather than the official documents page because the panel decision page provides easier access to the decisions. It is also possible to access the GATT panel decisions through this site.
As noted above, panel decisions can also be found on Lexis, Westlaw and WorldTradeLaw.net. These resources generally have better search capabilities than the WTO site. Therefore, it is advisable to use them when one is looking for more than just a specific case.
World Trade Organization dispute settlement decisions : Bernan's annotated reporter by Call Number: K4600 .W67 1998Publication Date: 1998-Bernan's series is intended to provide access to the decisions of the WTO's Dispute Settlement Body. This is an unofficial source for decisions. However, it is a good source because it includes all panel decisions and annotations. The decisions are set forth in chronological order. There are volumes devoted to annotations and case notes and these also contain indexes to the rest of the series. The annotation volumes also have useful cross-reference tables for treaty provisions interpreted and member country involvement in disputes.- The international trade law reportsCall Number: K3943.A15 I58Publication Date: 1996-This loose series contains panel reports of the WTO. Begun in 1996, it is currently six volumes organized by year. Within each volume cases are presented in chronological order. For each case, there is commentary, the panel report and the appellate body report. The commentary includes a discussion of the facts in the dispute and the findings of the panel, as well as legal and economic analysis of the panel's decision.
- Basic instruments and selected documents / General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade by Call Number: K4602 .B37x 1952Publication Date: 1952-1969Beginning in 1952, this series provided access to the text of the agreements that established GATT and set forth the procedures followed therein. After the first edition, the books provided decisions and reports from GATT panels and committees and an updated list of the contracting parties. Indexes are provided in the supplement volumes to assist in finding relevant decisions. The supplements generally cover two to three year periods, with selective editions for individual years. The publication stops after the 42nd supplement in 1995.
- WorldTradeLaw.netWorldTradeLaw.net offers a free library of current trade news and resources, as well as a subscription service (the DSC Service), which provides summary and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations; a current keyword index; a database of dispute settlement tables and statistics; and a user-friendly search tool for WTO cases, legal texts, and other documents.