International Trade Law : Research Guide

This volume provides a comprehensive introduction to the dispute settlement policies of the WTO. There are sections discussing the Dispute Settlement Body, the Appellate Body, the respective jurisdictions and the sources of law for the WTO decisions. The book contains analysis of all the stages of the dispute settlement process. It is clearly and understandably written and can serve as a good resource for beginning research into WTO's dispute settlement rules and procedures. There is a detailed index and table of contents, as well as a bibliography for additional resources.

This book is intended to serve as an introduction to the dispute settlement procedures of the WTO. It begins with a history of dispute settlement policies of GATT beginning in 1947 and proceeds to a discussion of the current system under the WTO. Part two of the book explores dispute settlement practice in specific subject areas, such as anti-dumping, intellectual property and restrictive business practices. The book also discusses the WTO dispute settlement system in conjunction with the regional trade agreements and domestic courts. The book is clearly written, well-organized and would serve as a good introductory resource.

This is a loose-leaf set. The purposes of the book are to provide an explanation of the dispute settlement procedures of the WTO and to provide access to dispute settlement instruments from both GATT and the WTO. The set also includes summaries of the dispute settlement decisions with references to where the full decision is published. There is a comprehensive introduction which discusses the evolution of the dispute settlement system from the original GATT to the current DSU under the WTO. In the introduction there are extensive footnotes with citations for locating the founding documents as well as references for further research.

The WTO dispute settlement system has become one of the most dynamic, effective and successful international dispute settlement systems in the world over the past twenty years. This second edition of A Handbook on the WTO Dispute Settlement System has been compiled by the dispute settlement lawyers of the WTO Secretariat with a view to providing a practice-oriented account of the system. In addition to describing the existing rules and procedures, this accessibly written handbook explains how those rules and procedures have been interpreted by dispute settlement panels and the Appellate Body, and how they have evolved over time. The handbook provides practical information to help various audiences understand the day-to-day operation of the WTO dispute settlement system.