USMCA and NAFTA
USMCA
The United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement ("USMCA") is a free trade agreement between the three countries that substituted the North America Free Trade Agreement ("NAFTA"). It was a result of renegotiations between NAFTA member states and came into effect on July 1 2020.
To see more background and reference works available at Diamond Law Library, please try these searches on Pegasus:
You can find a selected list of publications below.
NAFTA 2.0 : from the First NAFTA to the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (e-book) by Publication Date: 2022The renegotiation and possible termination of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) sparked a lot of interest and concern in light of the United States' declared objective to "rebalance the benefits" of the agreement. This book provides an overview of the changes brought to the NAFTA by the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) or NAFTA 2.0.
The USMCA, NAFTA Re-Negotiated and Its Business Implications in a Nutshell by Call Number: KDZ944 .F653 2020Publication Date: 2020This Nutshell provides an introduction to the law and economics of North American free trade. It first examines the origins, operation and impact of NAFTA 1994. The changes made by the USMCA agreement of 2018, and their implications for business, are explored in detail.
USMCA : Investment Provisions (e-book) by Publication Date: 2019-Provides access to all versions of the USMCA's investment provisions published since 2018.- The United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) (e-book) by Publication Date: 2018-This report provides access to all versions of the USMCA published since 2018.
NAFTA
The NAFTA was a free trade agreement between the United States, Canada and Mexico that sought to boost trade, eliminate barriers and reduce tariffs on imports and exports between the three nation states. It remained in force until the USMCA took effect on July 1 2020.
To see more background and reference works available at Diamond Law Library, including older editions, please try these searches on Pegasus:
You can find a selected list of publications below.
- North American Free Trade Agreements by Call Number: KDZ944.A35 N67Publication Date: 1993-This publication provides full-text versions of the NAFTA, supplemental agreements, commentary and panel decisions relating to the agreement. It is no longer updated.
- NAFTA Free Trade and Foreign Investment in the Americas by Call Number: KDZ944 .F653 2014Publication Date: 2014This Nutshell provides a quick reference for students and practitioners on the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), Mercado Comun del Sur (MERCOSUR), and numerous other free trade agreements in the Americas.
- Principles of Cooperation among the NAFTA Countries by Call Number: JX6281 T6872 2003Publication Date: 2004This publication by the American Law Institute contains commentary for judicial cooperation among the three NAFTA countries, the United States, Canada and Mexico, on matters involving insolvency and bankruptcy.
- Foreign investor protection under NAFTA Chapter 11 (e-resource)A report examining Chapter 11 of the NAFTA, which affords various protections to investors of one signatory nation having investments in the territory of another.
NAFTA At 20 by Call Number: HF1746 .N34 2014Publication Date: 2015The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) was bold and controversial from the start. When first conceived, it was far from obvious that it would be possible given the circumstances of the times. Drawing from a December 2013 Hoover Institution conference on NAFTA at 20, this book brings together distinguished academics who have studied the effects of NAFTA with high-level policy makers to present a comprehensive view of the North American Free Trade Agreement. It looks at the conception, creation, outcomes so far, and the future of NAFTA from the perspective of economists, historians, and the aforementioned policy makers in the words of those who actually participated in the negotiations and research. In the context of the fundamental economic and political transformation of North America, they discuss the trade, real wage, and welfare gains that NAFTA has produced for the United States, Mexico, and Canada, along with a review of the major energy markets within and among the three countries. They include lessons from NAFTA for the future, both for NAFTA itself and for other trade agreements, and stress the importance of political leadership and providing information on the benefits of trade liberalization to voters and potentially ill-informed politicians who hear most loudly from the opponents.
