Islamic Law

There are many encyclopedia sets on Islam and Islamic law. Below is a selective list. A subject search in a library catalog for Islamic law – Encyclopedias and Islam -Encyclopedias should retrieve a list of the collections available in the library. Additionally, browsing the collection under the Hicks/Schiller call number, Islam 000, in Pegasus will retrieve several of these sets. There are also encyclopedias dedicated to subjects within Islam/Islamic law, a few of these are listed below as well.

• Khan, A. A. and Khan, T. M. Encyclopaedia of Islamic law. New Delhi: Pentagon Press, 2006.
• Razi, M. Encyclopaedia of Islamic jurisprudence. New Delhi: Anmol Publications, 2007.
• Encyclopaedia of Islam (Online). Leiden: Brill, 2002.
• McAuliffe, J. D. Encyclopaedia of the Quran. Boston: Brill, 2001.
• Suad, J. Encyclopedia of women and Islamic cultures. Boston: Brill, 2003.
• Oxford Islamic Studies online. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
• The Cambridge History of Islam in four volumes from the complete Cambridge Histories Online.
  • The Cambridge History of Islam Vol. 1A: The central Islamic lands from pre-Islamic times to the First World War. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1978.
  • The Cambridge History of Islam Vol. 1B: The central Islamic lands since 1918. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1978.
  • The Cambridge History of Islam Vol. 2A: The Indian sub-continent, South-East Asia, Africa and the Muslim West. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1978.
  • The Cambridge History of Islam Vol. 2B: Islamic Society and Civilization. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1978.

This is a selective list of periodicals. A subject search in a library catalog for Islamic law – Periodicals will also retrieve a list of periodicals. Another option to locate articles is to search an index. Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals has several Islamic journals indexed. For further information on locating articles, please refer to our research guide, Finding Books and Articles on International and Foreign Law.

• Islamic law and society (online). Islamic law and society (print). Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1994-.
• Journal of Islamic and comparative law. Nigeria: Centre of Islamic Legal Studies, Faculty of Law, Ahmadu Bello University, 1967-.
• Journal of Islamic Law & Culture (online). Journal of Islamic Law & Culture (print). Takoma Park, Md.: Institute for Intercultural Relations, 2000-.
• UCLA journal of Islamic and Near Eastern law. Los Angeles: UCLA School of Law, 2002-.
• Journal of law and society. Peshawar: Legal Research Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Peshawar, 1982-.
• Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern law. London: Kluwer Law International, 1995-.
• Arab law quarterly. London: Kluwer Law International, 1985-.

• Oxford Bibliographies Online, Islamic Studies. http://www.oxfordbibliographiesonline.com/
• Index Islamicus. Bethesda, Md.: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service.
• Columbia Religious Studies Subject Guide.
• Grossman, Andrew. LLRX. Finding the Law: Islamic Law (Sharia).
• Raisch, Marylin Johnson. GlobaLex. Religious Legal Systems: A Brief Guide to Research and Its Role in Comparative Law.
• Wiles, Stephen. Harvard Law Library. Guide to Researching Islamic Law.
• Franklin, Jonathan. University of Washington, Gallagher Law Library. Islamic Law Research Guide.