Additional Sources about the UN
- United Nations Home PageThis is one of the best sources for up-to-date information about the UN. The following links within the site are particularly useful:
- About the United Nations for member lists, founding documents, history, and a description of the main bodies.
- Uphold International Law for links to UN legal bodies and resources.
- UN News to find out about the latest developments at the UN.
- UN Meetings Coverage and Press Releases contains a wealth of information about the UN. Publications start from 1995.
- UN Documents for links to information about United Nations Documents and the full text of many recent United Nations documents.
- United Nations System Chart (organization chart) to find out how the many UN groups fit together.
Law and practice of the United Nations : documents and commentary (e-book) by Publication Date: 2016Also available in print, Call Number KZ4986 .C54 2016
The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations (e-book) by Publication Date: 2018Provides a comprehensive analysis of the UN.
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations by Call Number: JZ4984.5 .B395 2018Publication Date: 2018Includes a helpful chronology of the UN and timelines.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by Call Number: JX1977 M784 2002Publication Date: 2002Most recent encyclopedia of the United Nations.
The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements by Call Number: JX1977 Os5 1990Publication Date: 1990This is a good place to start for basic information about the UN. For example, it includes a good explanation of the Special Rapporteur system.
The United Nations System and Its Predecessors by Call Number: JZ5566 .S9613 1997Publication Date: 1997This book describes how the organizations within the United Nations work.
Basic facts about the United Nations by Call Number: JX1977.A37 B3This is a good handbook on UN activities.
Butler has has: 1987, 1989, 1992, 1998, 2000, 2014, 2017.
Law Library has: 1947-48, 1950-58, 1960-64, 1966, 1967, 1970, 1972, 1975, 1977, 1983,1985,1987,1989,1992,1995,1998,2000.
