Introductory Sources on Environmental Law
These texts provide a brief introduction to the area of environmental law—they are all available in print from the Law Library. They are good resources for researchers who need to get the gist of the legal frameworks and principles in environmental law, but do not provide in-depth discussion of particular issues. If you are looking for texts that provide extensive commentary on and citation to primary environmental legal authorities, please see the treatises listed in the next section of this page.
Principles of Environmental Law by Call Number: K3585 .P7567 2018ISBN: 9781785365652Publication Date: 2018
Environmental Law and Policy by Call Number: KF3775 .S352 2019ISBN: 9781683287902Publication Date: 2019
Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF3775.Z9 F56 2019ISBN: 9781640201132Publication Date: 2019
Water Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF5569.85 .G48 2021ISBN: 9781640204140Publication Date: 2021
Treatises on Environmental Law
These treatises provide in-depth explanation of the general principles of, and specific areas within, environmental law. They also provide extensive commentary on statutes, regulations, cases, and other primary materials that govern this area of law. These texts are great resources for gaining background information on the topic and for finding citations to primary authority.
- Treatise on Environmental Law by Frank P. GradThis treatise provides thorough analysis of statutes, regulations, and decisions, coverage of emerging issues in climate change and global warming, including U.S. and international initiatives, coverage of the problems of growth, exhaustion of natural resources, aesthetic values, power shortages, effects of pollution on health, and primary source manuals of relevant federal statutes and regulatory material.
- Environmental Law by William H. RodgersThis treatise is a complete guide to statutes, court decisions and administrative regulations that govern air and water pollution, land management, toxic and hazardous wastes and pesticides.
- Environmental Law Practice Guide by Michael B. GerrardThis treatise offers comprehensive coverage of the entire spectrum of federal and state environmental law. It provides practical guidance that cuts across all substantive areas of environmental law. Written for attorneys, consultants, regulators and facility managers by some of the foremost authorities in the country, this publication provides guidance through complex procedures and phases of environmental law practice, featuring state-by-state as well as subject-by-subject coverage.
- Law of Environmental Protection by Seldon M. NovickThis treatise discusses the nine major statutes administered by the Environmental Protection Agency, including the Clean Water Act and the Clean Air Act. Instead of discussing each statute section by section, the treatise breaks up and rearranges the statutes so that you can see them as they are administered and enforced.
- Environmental Law & Regulation in New YorkThis treatise provides detailed analysis of relevant New York and federal statutes, regulations, and caselaw. It also offers step-by-step instructions for preparation and approval of environmental impact statements and guidance on administrative reviews, hearing, and other proceedings
Current Awareness & News Resources
Environmental law is an extremely dynamic and rapidly changing area of law. Researchers and practitioners working in this area must keep up with an ever-growing number of daily developments. The current awareness and news resources listed below are some of the most relied upon sources for staying up-to-date on this topic.
- Environmental Law ReporterAn in-depth monthly journal that covers pressing environmental topics in the legal practice and policy domain. The journal is edited by experts in the field, and its articles offer analysis across a broad spectrum of issues that are relevant to both academia and professional practice.
- Bloomberg Law Environment & Energy ReportThis daily publication focuses on original reporting regarding new and emerging issues in environmental law. It tracks legislative, regulatory, and judicial developments in the area, publishes commentary from experts in the field, and provides linked access to cited primary authorities.
- Law360 Environmental NewsletterThis resource provides news and analysis on environmental law. Coverage includes high-stakes litigation and enforcement actions related to environmental issues, as well as policy developments and corporate deals with environmental implications.
- E & E NewsThis resource is a daily news service that reports on the latest in politics and policy at state, national and international levels. Includes access to its topical daily newsletters GreenWire, EnergyWire, and ClimateWire.
- NY Times Climate & Energy Legislation
This link opens in a new window
Reporting on climate and energy legislation from the NY Times. Columbia students can register for a NY Times online account using their Columbia email by clicking the crown icon next to the resource title.
