The Law Library provides access to Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law for the Law School's faculty, staff, and students. To obtain instructions on creating an individual account for any of these databases, please contact the Law Library's Faculty Outreach or your Library Liaison.
If you would like to discuss search strategies, content updates, database enhancements, or similar topics, or if you run into issues using these databases, please contact the Reference Desk.
In addition to the major legal databases mentioned above, the Law Library also subscribes to many specialized legal databases including HeinOnline, Proquest Legislative Insight, Kluwer Arbitration, and the Foreign law Guide. For a listing of the major subscription database, please see the Databases and Indexes list.
The Law Library also licenses many books, journals, treatises, and looseleafs in electronic format. You can search the Law Library's online resources through Pegasus here.
For non-legal or interdisciplinary research, faculty have access to Columbia University Libraries' electronically licensed databases and journals. You can search for specific databases, or browse by discipline or resource type, using CUL's A-Z Database list. You can also browse and search for electronically licensed journals through CUL's E-Journals tool.
The Law Library welcomes faculty suggestions of electronic resources and databases that would be a worthwhile addition to our collection. Please send suggestions to Jody Armstrong, Associate Director, the Reference Desk, or your Library Liaison.
Remote access is available for many of both the Law Library's and Columbia University Libraries' electronic resources through a web proxy.
For Law Library materials, navigate to the database or other electronic resource you would like to access through the Databases and Indexes page or through Pegasus. When you click on the resource link, you will be prompted to login with your UNI credentials.
For Columbia University Library materials, navigate to the database or other electronic resource using the Columbia University Libraries Databases list, E-Journals tool or through CLIO. Again, you will be prompted to login with your UNI credentials to access the resource.
If you run into issues accessing electronic resources off-campus, please contact the Reference Desk.
Aside from the Bloomberg Law web-based legal research system, the Law Library also has access to the Bloomberg Professional service on a single terminal in the Law Library’s Reference Office. This service contains extensive financial intelligence, including data, analytics, news, prices, and communications. Please contact the Reference Desk (lawref@law.columbia.edu) for assistance.
To sign up for an account, click here and complete the Sign Up form with an email address and password of your choice. For more information, please be sure to check out this CUL guide.
Access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
Access will expire after four years for current faculty and staff and can be renewed.
Add on one-year access to NY Times Games (the Crossword, Spelling Bee, etc.) by following the link in this Law Library guide.
To sign up for an account, click here and complete the Sign Up form with an email address and password of your choice. For more information, please be sure to check out this CUL guide.
Access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
Faculty and staff need to validate their memberships once a year on the CUL Registration Page.
To sign up for an account, go to washingtonpost.com, click "Sign in" and then sign up for an account using your @law.columbia.edu address.
Access is limited to current CLS students, faculty, and staff.
Note: It is possible to access the Washington Post from a mobile device located on the Columbia campus without creating your own account. Be sure to connect to the "Columbia U Secure" wireless service.
To access Law360 articles, please login to Lexis+ using your law school credentials. Click on the menu button to the left of the Lexis+ logo, and then select "Law 360" in the dropdown menu.
To access ALM publications like Law.com, American Lawyer, and New York Law Journal, click here. You can access the individual publications by clicking on the menu button on the top-left, and then selecting "Publications."