Skip to Main Content

European Human Rights

Council of Europe

In the wake of World War II, Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom signed the Treaty of London that established the Council of Europe. It currently consists of 46 member states, after Russia was expelled in 2022 following the invasion of Ukraine.  The Council's core mission is the promotion and protection of human rights, mainly through the drafting of multilateral treaties.  

It is important to distinguish the Council of Europe from the European Union as they are often confused.  The EU comprises 27 countries that share a single market and, in many cases, a common currency. The Council of Europe is separate from, and currently larger than, the European Union.