Introduction
This section covers developments in the EU, including the enlargement process, the introduction of the Euro, and the Constitution of the EU and the Treaty of Lisbon.
Overview of enlargement
The EU has expanded multiple times since its inception.
In May 2004, ten new countries joined the European Union, bringing the number of member states to twenty-five. Since this enlargement included many Eastern European and Baltic countries, it has greatly expanded the geographic scope of the EU, as well introducing many new official languages. In 2007, Bulgaria and Romania joined the European Union. On July 1, 2013, Croatia joined the EU.
This process of countries joining the EU is often referred to as enlargement. Countries who wish to join the EU must meet the necessary membership criteria. There are 3 stages in the process of enlargement, which is subject to approval by all EU countries: (1) Becoming an official candidate for membership (2) Undergoing formal membership negotiations (3) Completion of negotiations and accompany reforms to the parties' satisfaction and joining the EU.
Further enlargement is still being planned. With the war in Ukraine, Kyiv has asked for a fast-track procedure of EU membership. The EU has also started accession negotiations with the candidate countries, Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey. You can find more information about the negotiation status of candidate countries here.
Resources related to enlargement
To see more background and reference works available at Diamond Law Library, including older editions, see here.
- EuropaThe official website of the European Union.
- EU enlargement (Europa)Includes actions, objectives, documents and related materials on the EU enlargement process.
European Union Enlargement (e-book) by Publication Date: 2015Also available in print, Call Number JN30 .M4327 2015.
Constitutional Evolution in Central and Eastern Europe (e-book) by Publication Date: 2010Various articles on EU Enlargement policies and how they relate to issues of Constitutionalism.
Also available in print, Call Number KJC4436 .C66 2010.
European Union Enlargement (e-book) by Publication Date: 2017Written by two diplomats directly involved in the process, offers an intense and detailed analysis of the almost ten-year process of preparing and negotiating the accession of Eastern, Southeastern, and Central European countries, as well as Mediterranean countries to the European Union. In the end, ten joined in 2004, with two more to follow in 2007.- The unity of Europe : political, economic and social aspects of the EU enlargement by Call Number: JX1982 Un4 2001Publication Date: 2001This book provides an introduction to the EU enlargement process. It was produced following the 2000 joint conference of the European Trade Union Confederation and the European Trade Union Institute. There are transcripts of the speeches made at the conference relating to the political, economic and social factors involved in enlarging the EU.
Enlargement strategy paper : report on progress towards accession by each of the candidate countries by Call Number: JX1981 B872 2000/3Publication Date: 2001The report from the European Commission gives a broad overview of the reasons for enlargement and the strategies involved in accession. It also provides a look at where each candidate country was in the accession process as of 2000. Although the information regarding the countries is not current, this is still an interesting resource because it shows what the countries were doing to prepare themselves for membership in the EU, as well as what the EU was seeking from prospective members.- Adapting the institutions to make a success of enlargement : Commission opinion in accordance with Article 48 of the Treaty on European Union on the calling of a conference of representatives of the governments of the member states to amend the treaties : by Call Number: JX1981 B872 2000/2Publication Date: 2000This commission opinion presents a strategy for adapting the EU institutions as enlargement progresses. It analyzes how the institutions currently operate and suggests possible options for their development and evolution as a result of the 2004 enlargement.
The Changing Role of the European Council in the Institutional Framework of the European Union by Call Number: KJE969 .E33 2012Publication Date: 2012This volume is a compilation of articles relating to the enlargement of the EU. Its purpose is to provide a historical account of the enlargement process and to analyze the current status of and future developments in the accession countries. There are chapters relating to region-wide issues and others which provide more in-depth looks at individual countries.
Reviewing European Union Accession by Call Number: KJE969 .R48 2018Publication Date: 2017This book addresses the question of how enlargement impacta the European Union as a whole. It reviews the historical development of the different enlargements of the EU and places the 2004 enlargement within the larger context. Chapters in the book look at the key social, political, economic and external issues relating to enlargement and the EU.
From Soviet Republics to EU Member States (2 Vols) (e-book) by Publication Date: 2008Also available in print, Call Number HC240.25.B29 E47 2008.
The Euro
On January 1, 1999, the European Union implemented the Euro as a single economic unit and on January 1, 2002, paper and coin Euros came into circulation. Adopting the euro allows the economies of the "Euro-area" members to become more integrated. Currently, 19 of the 27 current EU members have adopted the Euro as their official currency and are part of the Euro Area. The most recent country to adopt the Euro is Lithuania, which adopted it in 2015. The remaining non-Euro-area member states were those who acceded to the Union after the euro was launched, but did not meet the necessary conditions for entry to the Euro-area and are considered "Member States with derogation".
- Europa's EURO information pageThis website contains information relating to the participating members in the EURO, legislation used in its implementation, as well as an archive of papers discussing the changeover to the EURO. This website also contains reports on the progress of the expansion of the Euro Area in the section on documents.
The Constitution for the European Union and the Treaty of Lisbon
Between February 2002 and July 2003, the Convention on the Future of Europe took place with the intent of developing a draft constitution for the EU. The Draft Constitution was completed and presented to the President of the EU by the President of the Convention on July 18, 2003. The final version of the proposed constitution, called the Treaty Establishing a Constitution for Europe, was signed by the heads of state on October 29, 2004. It was submitted to the member states for ratification. Although it has been ratified by fifteen countries, the Treaty was defeated in France and the Netherlands in June 2005. Following those defeats, the European Council decided to review the constitution and the ratification process in early 2006. In their June 2006 meeting, the European Council extended the period of review and reflection for another two years.
After this period of review, the Treaty of Lisbon was signed on December 13, 2007 and entered into force on December 1, 2009. The Treaty of Lisbon replaces the Constitution.
Resources related to the Treaty of Lisbon and the Constitution
To see more background and reference works available at Diamond Law Library, including older editions, please try these searches on Pegasus:
- The Treaty of Lisbon Fact SheetPresents the background and essential provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon.
- Treaty establishing a Constitution for EuropeThis as published in the Official Journal of the European Union. The citation is O.J. 2004 (C 310) 1 and it is available on the Europa website.
- EU Constitution: the State of PlayArticle available on the Human and Constitutional Rights Resource Page. It provides a discussion of the reasons for establishing a constitution for the EU.
Constitution Building in the European Union by Call Number: JX1982.L3 Sm52 2002Publication Date: 2002This book discusses the status, structure and reasons for the Intergovernmental Conferences (IGC) held by the European Union. There is specific focus on the constitutional IGCs that are being used for the purpose of developing a constitution of the EU. It presents a historical background of IGCs dating from the 1950s and also explores the reasons for the recently increased occurrence of the IGCs.
Europe's Constitutional Challenges in the Light of the Recent Case Law of National Constitutional Courts by Call Number: KJE4445 .E9694 2011ISBN: 9783832967246Publication Date: 2011This collection contains contributions to an international conference held in Madrid in October 2010. It is based on the view that the European Union and its constitutional law cannot be isolated from its Member States and their respective constitutions, which are part of European constitutional law, and that the case law of the national courts, in particular the constitutional and supreme courts of the Member States, needs to be considered as much as the jurisprudence of the European Court of Justice.
The European Constitution and National Constitutions by Call Number: KJE4445 .E9695 2007Publication Date: 2006This book looks at the ratification process of the European Constitution in each member state. The materials are presented first for the countries that have approved the constitution, then the two where ratification failed and lastly the countires in which the ratification process is on hold pending decisions by the EU on the future of the constitution. The analysis addresses the question of how the European Constitution has impacted the national constitution within the countries.
