Research Guides: International Climate Change Law: Additional Resources

IGOs

The websites of intergovernmental organizations can provide much valuable information.

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change Secretariat (UN Climate Change)

This website provides the most complete and accessible information on the work of UN Climate Change, which facilitated the intergovernmental climate change negotiations and supports the various bodies that implement the UNFCCC, the Kyoto Protocol, and the Paris Agreement. It includes comprehensive information about

Past conferences
The Kyoto Protocol
The Paris Agreement
Topics like climate change mitigation, adaptation, science, finance, and technology, in an international context
Browseable and searchable repositories of all related documents and decisions of the various UNFCCC bodies

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

The IPCC assesses and provides scientific and technical information related to climate change and its impacts. Its website includes the reports produced at its conferences and technical papers, going back to the mid- 1990s.

UN Environment Programme- Climate Change

The UNEP helps countries implement environmentally sound policies. The climate change section of its website includes reports and news stories.

Useful Databases

ECOLEX
The ECOLEX database, a project of the UN Food and Agriculture Organization, the UN Environment Programme, and the International Union for Conservation of Nature includes information on treaties, international policy documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and environmental law literature. There is both indexing and full text for many documents.

Current Awareness Tools

ClimateWire
ClimateWire, accessible through CLIO, is a daily publication focusing on climate policy. Articles on international topics can be found under the “International” heading.
International Environment Reporter
Bloomberg Law offers twice monthly coverage of international environmental news, laws, regulations, and policies from major nations and international organizations through the International Environment Reporter. You can scan headlines and read articles on Bloomberg Law or receive email updates.

Additional Resources

Sabin Center for Climate Change Law

Columbia Law School’s Sabin Center for Climate Change Law is a wonderful resource for all aspects of climate change law. In the international law field, the Center’s website includes the 2017 report it wrote for the UN Environmental Programme: “The Status of Climate Change Litigation: A Global Review.”

Other Research Guides

Here are five online research guides about international climate change or international environmental law generally that may be useful:

United Nations Dag Hammarskjold Library- Climate Change- A Global Issue Research Guide
Northwestern University- United Nations Research Guide: Environment & Climate
American Society of International Law- International Environmental Law Electronic Resource Guide
Georgetown Law Library- International Environmental Law Research Guide
NYU Law GlobaLex- A Basic Guide to International Environmental Legal Research