Databases
There are several ICA-focused subscription databases available to members of the CLS community. These databases contain primary and secondary sources on international commercial arbitration and are great tools for both general research and locating specific materials.
- KluwerArbitration.com This link opens in a new windowThis database includes a large number of books, including Born's International Commercial Arbitration, Yearbook Commercial Arbitration and Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration. You can browse the books through the table of contents or search in particular sources (using the advanced search feature). There are also several journals available through this database. The full-text of many ICA conventions, national legislation, rules and BITs can be browsed as well. In addition, there is a collection of New York Convention decisions, organized by article of the convention.
- Jus MundiProvides access to international law and arbitration materials including treaties, tribunal decisions, and other documents.
- International Commercial Arbitration (Oxford Legal Research Library) This link opens in a new window
International Commercial Arbitration (ICMA) includes texts that cover the key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions and provide coverage of the rules of particular arbitral bodies. Also included are a number of key treatises looking at specific areas of international arbitration practice, with topics ranging from consent and annulment through to the calculation of damages.
- Investment Claims This link opens in a new window
This database from Oxford University Press includes both primary materials and commentary and analysis about international investment law and arbitration. The database includes full-text investment awards with official documents and authoritative commentary, treaty sector overviews, relevant international treaties and domestic legislation from jurisdictions including the US and UK, arbitral rules, as well as online versions of key Oxford University Press arbitration books and journal articles.
- Investor-State LawGuide (ISLG)ISLG is a collection of tools for researching international investment treaty law. The scope of ISLG's document collection includes all publicly available decisions and awards where the subject of the claim is an investment treaty. The collection also includes investment treaties, including bilateral investment treaties, and rules.
To access, click "Login" on the homepage, then choose "Auto Login" - Investment Arbitration ReporterThis database provides both news articles on investment arbitration and copies of the underlying arbitration documents. You can browse new articles by topic, for example, ICC Rules, NAFTA or Environmental Disputes (among many others) and download PDF copies of the documents mentioned in the news articles. The news articles are compiled into newsletters which can also be downloaded as PDFs.
- Transnational Dispute Management This link opens in a new windowThis global transnational dispute management portal provides information on developments in the fields of arbitration and dispute management. The portal also provides access to a variety of documents--arbitration agreements, legislation, awards and cases that can be browsed or searched. The website includes access to the Transnational Dispute Management Journal, published every two months, and to the last two years of back issues.
- WorldTradeLaw.net This link opens in a new window
Includes summary/analysis of all WTO reports/arbitrations up-to-date keyword index and a database of dispute settlement tables/statistics.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowUnder the Alternative Dispute Resolution area of practice, Westlaw provides a number of ICA databases including: International Commercial Arbitration-Cases (ICA-CASES) which includes published and unpublished cases from a number of countries, a variety of ICA treatises and rules and ICA journals. See the Arbitration Materials section in Westlaw (search for international arbitration materials and select the suggested content) for a full list of available databases.
- Lexis Advance This link opens in a new windowLexis+ includes databases such as: International Arbitration: Mealey's Litigation Report (starting in 1993) and the journal American Review of International Arbitration (from 1996). There is also a database of U.S. Treaties. See the International Arbitration tab in LexisNexis for a full list of available databases. In Lexis+, using the Browse function, browse Topics to International Trade Law, where you'll find Dispute Resolution and International Commercial Arbitration. Select International Commercial Arbitration, then select Secondary Materials. Use the Sources filter to view all available databases and materials pertaining to ICA.
Although not specific to international commercial arbitration, the databases listed below are useful tools for finding foreign and international resources.
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on sources of foreign law for most countries. It includes citations to legislation, references to translations when available, and select secondary sources. This database is commonly referred to as Reynolds and Flores.
- Global Legal Information NetworkThis database contains laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources. The documents included in the database are contributed by the governments of the member nations from the original official texts which are deposited, by agreement of the members, in a server at the Library of Congress, sponsored by the Law Library of Congress. The basic elements of this database are: (1) full texts of the documents in the official language of the country of origin; (2) summaries or abstracts in English; and (3) an English thesaurus. GLIN data fields in the database include country/entity, GLIN thesaurus, title, date of issuance, date of publication, instrument class, instrument number, language, and others. The summaries or abstracts are linked electronically to the corresponding full texts.
Indexes
Individual journal articles on international commercial arbitration can also be found by using the specialized periodical indexes listed below. For more information regarding finding journal articles, please see the research guide Finding Books and Articles on International and Foreign Law.
- HeinOnline Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndex to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is an excellent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
To search, click on the "Subject" tab to browse the alphabetical list of subject headings. When you find a relevant subject heading, enter it in the search box and select "Country/Subject Heading" as the search field from the menu before running the search. - Index to Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new window
Index to over 500 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective This link opens in a new windowRetrospective index to over 500 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new windowMore than 1200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, Bar Association journals, specialty publications, and international legal journals are indexed in LegalTrac. Of these, more than 200 titles are available in full text. The database covers federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, British Commonwealth, EU, and international law.