International Commercial Arbitration

Written by leading experts in the field, this title explains the stages of the arbitration process in a straightforward manner and from a practitioner's perspective. The authors provide guidance on drafting the arbitration agreement, commencing arbitration, selecting the arbitral tribunal, drafting pleadings and evidence, managing oral hearings, liaising with the tribunal throughout the arbitral process and enforcing the final award.Numerous tips, examples and precedents are included to help the new practitioner or interested student understand each stage of the arbitration proceedings.The second edition provides an update to take into account the rule changes that have been adopted by arbitral institutions in the six years since the first edition was published, and to include up-to-date guidance on topical issues such as: third party funding in international arbitration; the increase in the number of multi-party arbitrations; procedural trends including the adoption of expedited timetables and guidance around the use of tribunal secretaries; and issues of ethics applicable to counsel and tribunals in cross-border disputes.

Written by Dr. Peter Binder, an attorney, arbitrator, and the Director of the International Law Reform Institute in Vienna, Austria, this text provides a complete overview and comparison of all 111 jurisdictions that have adopted the UNCITRAL Model Law. The book also extensively discusses the legislative history and national adoption practice of the Model Law on Arbitration, as well as highlights how courts in each adopting jurisdiction apply the model law by providing short, up-to-date case summaries.

Edited by Frank-Bernd Weigand and Antje Baumann, practitioners and experts in international arbitration, this text provides a comprehensive overview of the arbitration systems and laws of 13 key arbitral jurisdictions. The book also provides extensive explanation of and commentary on the arbitration rules of ICC, ICDR, LCIA, UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules, and the UNCITRAL Model Law and New York Convention treaties. The jurisdictions covered include Austria, Belgium, Brazil, People’s Republic of China and Hong Kong, England, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States. For each country, the book provides information on the current status of the law on arbitration, the jurisdiction of the arbitral tribunal, the arbitral procedure, the award, amending and challenging the award, and enforcing the award.

Written by William Park, Professor of Law at Boston University and President of the London Court of International Arbitration, this text is a collection of essays that discuss enduring questions in cross-border dispute resolution, including the proper role of judicial review, the allocation of jurisdictional tasks, the evolution of arbitration’s statutory and treaty framework, free trade and bilateral investment agreements, and the balance between fixed rules and arbitral discretion. The book also compares arbitration in specific fields such as finance, intellectual property, and taxation.

A six volume publication. Volumes 1 through 1B contain information and commentary on the arbitration laws of each applicable country. Volume 2 contains information and commentary on national arbitration institutions, normally with the applicable rules for such institution attached as an appendix. Volume 3 covers international arbitration institutions (with applicable rules attached as an appendix). Finally, Volume 4 covers treaties, bilateral and regional agreements (with the text of appropriate documents attached as appendices).

Published on a quarterly basis, this journal publishes articles (written by practitioners and academics) as well as book reviews of books on international commercial arbitration.

Published on a quarterly basis, this is the journal of the Swiss Arbitration Association ("ASA"). Issues generally include articles written by practitioners and academics, cases from Swiss courts, cases from foreign jurisdictions, arbitral awards and orders, book reviews, and information regarding ASA. Articles are published in English, French, or German.

This official ICSID publication contains reports, articles, student articles, and book reviews.

This is a practitioner-oriented, bi-monthly journal focusing on current developments and trends in international commercial arbitration and investor-state arbitration. It includes summaries of recent arbitral awards and court decisions.

Published six times per year, this journal includes summaries of arbitration cases from around the world, expert commentary, and news about legislative developments and court decisions. It also includes shorter articles and news relating to international commercial arbitration.

Published bimonthly, this journal contains investigation and commentary regarding current issues in international commercial arbitration.

This quarterly publication features articles written by practitioners and scholars, case notes, and book reviews.

This official ICC publication includes practitioner-written articles in English and in French, as well as extracts from significant arbitration awards issued under the ICC's arbitration rules in their original language.

Online only. This database provides full-text access to a large number of ICA publications. Periodicals available include: American Journal of Construction Arbitration & ADR, European International Arbitration Review, American Review of International Arbitration, Canadian Journal of Commercial Arbitration, Journal of Enforcement of Arbitration Awards, Journal of American Arbitration, Journal of Technology in International Arbitration, Dispute Resolution Journal, Journal of Damages in International Arbitration, Stockholm Arbitration Report, Stockholm International Arbitration Review, World Arbitration and Mediation Review.