Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 Resources

Up-to-date information on the Columbia Law Library

Electronic Resources

Most of the Law Library's databases are accessible to you from off-campus. The best way to access particular databases is either through:

Alternatively you can browse a curated selection of databases via the:

You can also use CLIO to look for non-legal specific databases (such as EBSCOhost or JSTOR) as well as access to many articles and ebooks:

Lexis Advance, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law

Your individual credentials to these platforms are still valid, and will provide you with access to content from anywhere with an internet connection.

For 2021 Graduates, please see Resources for Graduates

For incoming students (1L students and LLMs beginning in Fall 2021), you will receive registration information towards the start of the semester. LLMs often receive this information during orientation and 1Ls receive this information during their first LPW sessions.

Columbia Law School VPN Connection

You can find information on connecting to Columbia Law School's VPN through:

New York Public Library

Although many of the NYPL databases may also be accessible from Columbia University Libraries, it may be worthwhile to browse NYPL’s academic e-book collections if you are unable to find a particular e-book on CLIO.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) temporarily gives access to 40% of Columbia’s print collections in digital format.
To access this collection, use:

When prompted, log in with your UNI and password.

Please note:

  • ETAS makes items available digitally for each print item available via CLIO and in the same quantity.
  • ETAS loans are for online use only using a browser based page turner (no downloads).
  • Items are checked out via CLIO through ETAS are for an hour but will be automatically renewed for as long as they’re in use (if a browser window or tab is closed or inactive the loan will end after an hour).
  • Users can return an item when it is no longer needed which will make it available more quickly to the next user.

The Online Bluebook

The Bluebook is offering complimentary 60 day access to the online version of the Bluebook. To request access, please email referencedesk@law.columbia.edu from your Lionmail account and you will be provided with a Bluebook Redemption Key.

To redeem this Key and set up an account, enter it at https://www.legalbluebook.com/ where it says "Bluebook Key Redemption" and follow the on-screen instructions to set up a username (unique and active email address) and password. You can only use the key once. From that point forward, you access your account with your username and password.

The subscription is active 60 days from the date you redeem this key on the website.

After you set up your account you might need to log out and then log back in again to view site contents.

If a user previously had a Bluebook subscription that expired, it is easiest to set up a new account with a different email address. To extend an existing account, go to My Account at the top of the page, Extend My Subscription, select the radio button for My Account Renewal/Extension and enter the key where it says Redeem Your Bluebook Key and click Go.